University of Louisville

Following one of the most statistically impressive Heisman seasons, Lamar Jackson is the youngest player to win the award at just 19 years, 337 days.

Heisman Winner

Lamar Jackson

QB | Sophomore | University of Louisville

Lamar Jackson won Louisville’s first Heisman by producing one of the most statistically impressive seasons in Heisman history. He is the youngest player to win the Heisman, at just 19 years, 337 days — five days younger than the previous youngest winner, Jameis Winston.

The 6-3, 218-pounder accumulated 4,928 yards of total offense, second in Heisman history behind Ty Detmer’s 5,022 in 1990. His 51 touchdowns running and passing ties him with Tim Tebow for third on the all-time Heisman chart. He’s the first player to win the Heisman with at least 30 touchdown passes and at least 21 rushing touchdowns. His 1,538 rushing yards are the most-ever by a Heisman-winning quarterback.

The fourth sophomore to win the award, Jackson is also the eighth player from a team currently in the Atlantic Coast Conference to win. He led the Cardinals to a 9-3 record, a No. 15 national ranking and a berth in the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl.

Born on Jan. 7, 1997, in Pompano Beach, Fla., Jackson starred as a dual-threat quarterback for Boynton Beach (Fla.) High in South Florida. As a 2014 senior, he was named to the 6A all-state first team as a utility player after throwing forĀ 1,293 passing yards and 20 touchdowns with 1,039 rushing yards and 19 touchdowns. He committed to Louisville over Florida and Nebraska, among others.

Jackson earned the starting quarterback job for Louisville as a 2015 true freshman and performed admirably, passing for 1,840 yards and 12 touchdowns and rushing for 960 yards and 11 scores. He flashed signs of what was to come in a 27-21 victory over Texas A&M in the Music City Bowl, passing for 227 yards, rushing for 226 and totaling four touchdowns.

He exploded out of the gate as a 2016 sophomore, piling up yards and touchdowns at an unprecedented rate. Among the highlights: Eight touchdowns in the first half against Charlotte, 610 yards of total offense (411 passing, 199 rushing) against Syracuse and 5 total touchdowns in a 63-20 thrashing of Florida State.

By season’s end, Jackson’s yardage and touchdown totals were among the best in college football history. Accordingly, he won the Heisman comfortably, winning all six voting regions to beat out fellow ACC rival Deshaun Watson of Clemson, 2,144 points to 1,524.

More Articles About Lamar Jackson

Heisman Voting Results

Number of electors: 929 - Announced: December 10, 2016.

 PlayerClassPositionSchool1st2nd3rdTotal Points
1Lamar JacksonSOQBLouisville526251642144
2DeShaun WatsonJRQBClemson2693021131524
3Baker MayfieldRS JRQBOklahoma2672139361
4Dede WestbrookSRWROklahoma74990209
5Jabrill PeppersJRLBMichigan114585208
6Jake BrowningSOQBWashington34191182
7Jonathan AllenSRDEAlabama172139132
8D'Onta ForemanJRRBTexas62171131
9Christian McCaffreyJRRBStanford101739103
10Dalvin CookJRRBFlorida State3152867
11Donnell PumphreySRRBSan Diego State4123167

Three points are awarded for first place on a ballot, with two points for second place and one point for third place. Finalists in bold.

Heisman Voting By Region

Heisman voters are spread out across six regions, with roughly 145 per region.


1Lamar Jackson388
2DeShaun Watson267
3Baker Mayfield58
4Dede Westbrook30
5Jabrill Peppers22


1Lamar Jackson318
2DeShaun Watson266
3Baker Mayfield57
4Jabrill Peppers33
5Dede Westbrook26


1Lamar Jackson350
2DeShaun Watson274
3Jabrill Peppers50
4Baker Mayfield48
5Dede Westbrook33


1Lamar Jackson363
2DeShaun Watson269
3Baker Mayfield64
4Jabrill Peppers39
5Dede Westbrook22


1Lamar Jackson360
2DeShaun Watson215
3Baker Mayfield96
4Dede Westbrook69
5Jabrill Peppers27

Far West

1Lamar Jackson365
2DeShaun Watson233
3Baker Mayfield38
4Jabrill Peppers37
5Dede Westbrook29

Notes on the Vote

Percentage of ballots on which the top 5 appeared:
Lamar Jackson — 90.53%
Deshaun Watson — 74.63%
Baker Mayfield — 25.51%
Jabrill Peppers — 15.72%
Dede Westbrook — 15.18%

By comparison, the 2015 winner, Derrick Henry, was named on 86.01% of ballots.

Number of ballots received and tabulated
899 out of 929 (97%)

Number of players receiving votes, by place:
First — 19 players
Second — 32
Third — 39
Total players receiving votes — 48
(35 players received votes in 2015)

The spread between 3rd and 10th is the tightest since 1999.


DateOpponentResultAttCompPctYardsYPATDIntRatingRushesYardsYPCTDPlaysTotal OffYPPTotal TDs
09/01/16CharlotteW 70-14231773.928612.460264.451111910.8223440511.918
09/09/16at SyracuseW 62-28392051.341110.511143.13211999.4846061010.175
09/17/16#8 FloridaW 63-20201365.021610.811162.22171468.594373629.785
09/24/16at MarshallW 59-28442454.54179.551167.1112625.172564798.557
10/01/16at #1 ClemsonL 36-42442761.42956.711120.63311625.232754576.093
10/14/16DukeW 24-14261350.01817.010121.17211446.861473256.912
10/22/16NC StateW 54-13342058.835510.430175.6417764.471514318.454
10/29/16at VirginiaW 32-25412458.53618.841159.8117885.180584497.744
11/05/16at Boston CollegeW 52-7171270.623113.641250.621518512.3333241613.07
11/12/16Wake ForestW 44-12261453.81455.610113.39221536.950482986.211
11/17at HoustonL 10-36432046.52114.91095.4125331.320682443.591
11/26/16KentuckyL 38-41251664.028111.223160.82251716.842504529.044
Heisman StatsCFP #159-338222057.533908.4309153.3423415386.572161649288.051
12/31/16#13 LSUL 9-29271037.01535.70084.6426331.270531863.510
Totals#21 AP; #20 Coaches9-440923056.235438.7309148.8226015716.042166951147.6451