University of Southern California

The versatile Garrett won USC's first Heisman while becoming one of the first college backs to average over 25 carries per game.

Heisman Winner

Mike Garrett

RB | Senior | University of Southern California

The versatile Garrett won USC’s first Heisman while becoming one of the first college backs to average over 25 carries per game.

Garrett was born in Los Angeles where he was a 1962 graduate of Roosevelt High. A two-way back, he was the L.A. City Player of the Year as a 1961 senior while also showing great promise as a baseball player.

The 5-9, 180-pound Garrett signed with USC and, after sitting out his freshman year per NCAA rules, he made an immediate impact for the Trojans. As a sophomore, Garrett rushed for 833 yards and scored three times. As a junior, he rushed for 948 yards and nine touchdowns while also catching 17 passes for 227 yards and a score.

Garrett had a mighty senior campaign, rushing for 1,440 yards while scoring 17 touchdowns (two on punt returns), as the Trojans went 7-2-1 and finished ninth in the polls. For his efforts, he was awarded the Heisman Trophy.

His career rushing total of 3,221 yards was among the best totals in NCAA history at the time. Besides his rushing gains, Garrett career totals also included 36 receptions, 43 punt returns, 30 kickoff returns and six pass attempts (two of which went for scores). He scored 30 touchdowns in his career and tallied over 4,500 all-purpose yards.

Garrett was a second round pick in the 1966 draft and played four years for the Kansas City Chiefs and four more with the San Diego Chargers. He won a Super Bowl ring with the Chiefs in 1970.

He returned to his alma mater as an associate athletic director and was later named Athletic Director in 1993, a position he held until 2010. He was also the Athletic Director at Langston College.

Garrett has remained actively involved in youth programs in Los Angeles, starting the East Los Angeles Youth Activities to deal with gang youth, and has been a motivating force behind several charity sports programs.

He was elected to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame in 1985.

More Articles About Mike Garrett

Heisman Voting Results

Number of electors: 1160 - Announced: November 23, 1965.

 PlayerClassPositionSchool1st2nd3rdTotal Points
1Mike GarrettSRRBUSC179143103926
2Howard TwilleySRWRTulsa1017869528
3Jim GrabowskiSRRBIllinois977246481
4Donny AndersonJRRB/PTexas Tech785760408
5Floyd LittleJRRBSyracuse514250287
6Steve JudaySRQBMichigan State534042281
7Tommy NobisSRLBTexas273750205
8Bob GrieseJRQBPurdue323625193
9Steve SpurrierJRQBFlorida17141493
10Steve SloanSRQBAlabama1815892

Three points are awarded for first place on a ballot, with two points for second place and one point for third place.

Heisman Voting By Region

At this time, Heisman voters are spread out across five regions.


1Mike Garrett
2Howard Twilley
3Donny Anderson
4Steve Spurrier
5Steve Sloan


1Mike Garrett
2Floyd Little
3Howard Twilley
4Jim Grabowski
5Donny Anderson


1Jim Grabowski
2Mike Garrett
3Howard Twilley
4Steve Juday
5Bob Griese


1Donny Anderson
2Howard Twilley
3Tommy Nobis
4Mike Garrett
5Jim Grabowski

Far West

1Mike Garrett
2Howard Twilley
3Jim Grabowski
4Donny Anderson
5Steve Juday


Mike Garrett’s Heisman Year Statistics

DateOpponentResultRush AttYdsAvg.TDsRecYdsAvgTDsPRYdsAvg.TDsKORYdsAvg.TDsPlaysAPYYPPTotal TDs
9/17/65MinnesotaT 20-20331464.42144110.251002
9/25/65at WisconsinW 26-6241546.41222814.000002
10/1/65Oregon StateW 26-12311725.543000.000003
10/9/65at WashingtonW 34-0311755.640188.000000
10/16/65StanfordW 14-0312056.611000.000001
10/23/65at #8 Notre DameL 28-716432.680000.000000
11/6/65at CaliforniaW 35-011676.091000.000216180.50203
11/13/65PittsburghW 28-0261566.003133.000003
11/20/65#4 UCLAL 20-16402105.250000.000000
11/27/65WyomingW 56-6241124.66311414.000003
Heisman StatsUPI #9, AP #107-2-126714405.391499410.4411323518.072510521.00029418746.417

- Garrett was also 2/4 passing for 42 yards with 2 TDs and 1 interception.
- Information on his game-by-game PRs, KORs and All-Purpose Yardage is incomplete.


50th anniversary Heisman winner: Mike Garrett