Burrow Has A Chance To Join Exclusive Heisman Club

Joe Burrow, sporting the Super Bowl LVI Heisman Trophy patch on the Bengals uniform. Credit Cincinnati Bengals.

Joe Burrow is already in a handful of exclusive clubs, starting with being one of 86 recipients of the Heisman Trophy (which includes two-time winner Archie Griffin; more about him later).

He is one of 23 Heisman winners to be drafted first overall, one of 17 to win a Heisman and a national title in the same season and one of seven winners to do it with an undefeated season.

Burrow is just the third quarterback to lead the Cincinnati Bengals to the Super Bowl, following Ken Anderson (1982) and Boomer Esiason (1989).

He is also the seventh second-year quarterback to reach the Super Bowl, joining Dan Marino (1984), Kurt Warner (1999), Tom Brady (2001), Ben Roethlisberger (2005), Colin Kaepernick (2012) and Russell Wilson (2013).

If he can lead the Bengals to a win in Super Bowl LVI next week against the Los Angeles Rams, he will join another exclusive club and start one of his own.

A win over the Rams would make him just the fourth Heisman winner to win both a national title in college and a Super Bowl title, joining Tony Dorsett, Marcus Allen and Charles Woodson in an elite group.

And, of course, he would be the first quarterback to do it. (The last Heisman winner to play in the Super Bowl was Cam Newton in Super Bowl 50, but Carolina fell to Denver, 24-10.)

Should the Bengals win and Burrow pick up Super Bowl MVP honors, he would join Allen as the only two Heisman winners to do it along with the college and pro titles.

Griffin, by the way, is the only previous Heisman winner to play for the Bengals in a Super Bowl, doing so in the 1982 game.