Kyler Murray named 2018 Heisman Trophy winner

Notes from the Heisman ceremony

Final Press Packet

Kyler Murray of the University of Oklahoma was selected on Saturday (Dec. 8) as the 84th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy, an award presented annually by the Heisman Trophy Trust to the most outstanding player in college football.

The junior quarterback was announced as the 2018 winner of the prestigious honor at the end of ESPN’s live broadcast of the Heisman ceremony from Manhattan’s PlayStation Theater.

“This is crazy. This is an honor,” said Murray from the podium after being announced as the winner. “It’s something I’ll never forget. Something I’ll cherish for the rest of my life.”

Murray, who followed Baker Mayfield as quarterback at Oklahoma, is the first player to win the Heisman the year after taking over for another Heisman winner. His victory also marks just the fourth time a school has won consecutive Heismans.

He’s the seventh Sooner to win the Heisman, joining Billy Vessels (’52), Steve Owens (’69), Billy Sims (’78), Jason White (’03), Sam Bradford (’08) and Mayfield (’17).¬† That total ties Notre Dame and Ohio State for most Heisman wins.

The 5-10, 195-pounder from Allen, Texas, threw for 4,054 yards and 40 touchdowns, with another 892 yards and 11 scores on the ground while leading the Sooners to a 12-1 record, the Big 12 title and a berth in the College Football Playoff. His passer rating of 205.72 is the best in Heisman history, eclipsing the mark of 203.76 set by Mayfield in 2017.

Ballots were emailed to 870 media personnel across the nation plus 58 Heisman winners and one fan ballot, for a total of 929 electors. The ballots were received and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. Murray polled 2,167 points to capture the award over Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama (1,871 points), and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins (783 points). The point total is reached by a system of three points for a first place vote, two for a second and one for a third.

Murray will be officially inducted into the Heisman family at the 84th annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Dinner Gala on Sunday evening, December 9, 2017, at the Marriott Marquis in New York.

Full stats for Kyler Murray

2018 Heisman Voting Results

PlaceNameSchoolPosClass1st2nd3rdTotal Pts
1.Kyler MurrayOklahomaQBJR517278602,167
2.Tua TagovailoaAlabamaQBSO2994311121,871
3.Dwayne HaskinsOhio StateQBJR46111423783
4.Will GrierWest VirginiaQBSR41780126
5.Gardner MinshewWashington St.QBSR61574122
6.Mckenzie MiltonUCFQBJR441939
7.Travis EtienneClemsonRBSO061729
8.Quinnen WilliamAlabamaNTSO141627
9.Jonathan TaylorWisconsonRBSO121926
10.Darrell HendersonMemphisRBJR031521

For more details on the 2018 Heisman Trophy vote, visit