The Last Heisman Winner To Win A Super Bowl?

Charles Woodson helped Green Bay win Super Bowl XLV in 2011 and is the last Heisman Trophy winner to win the big game.

The Heisman-related trivia question for the week is who was the last Heisman winner to win a Super Bowl and the answer, for the 13th straight year, is Charles Woodson.

Woodson, while a member of the Green Bay Packers, earned his ring in 2011 at Super Bowl XLV.

Lamar Jackson was the last Heisman winner standing in the 2023 NFL playoffs before he and the Ravens fell to Kansas City in the AFC Championship game.

Woodson, by the way, is the only Heisman winner to play for two different teams in the Super Bowl, having also suited up for the Oakland Raiders in Super Bowl XXXV in 2003.

Woodson had eight tackles and an interception in his Super Bowl debut with the Raiders, who fell to Tampa Bay, 48-21.

He had three tackles in the first half of the Packers’ win but broke his collarbone shortly before halftime and had to serve as an inspirational leader the rest of the way.

As we are Heisman-less in the Super Bowl this year, the below Heisman data and records will remain unchanged.

Overall, 20 Heisman winners have appeared on Super Bowl rosters 28 times while a combined 10 Heisman winners have won a total of 12 Super Bowls (Roger Staubach and Jim Plunkett being the only repeat winners).

Here’s a rundown of Heisman Super Bowl superlatives:

Heisman winners on Super Bowl rosters
1967 – Mike Garrett (Kansas City), Paul Hornung* (Green Bay)
1968 – Billy Cannon (Oakland)
1970 – Mike Garrett* (Kansas City), John Huarte* (Kansas City)
1971 – Roger Staubach (Dallas)
1972 – Roger Staubach* (Dallas)
1976 – Roger Staubach (Dallas)
1978 – Roger Staubach* (Dallas), Tony Dorsett* (Dallas)
1979 – Roger Staubach (Dallas), Tony Dorsett (Dallas)
1981 – Jim Plunkett* (Oakland)
1982 – Archie Griffin (Cincinnati)
1984 – Marcus Allen* (Los Angeles Raiders), Jim Plunkett* (Los Angeles Raiders)
1988 – George Rogers* (Washington)
1997 – Desmond Howard* (Green Bay Packers)
2000 – Eddie George (Tennessee)
2001 – Ron Dayne (New York Giants)
2003 – Tim Brown (Oakland), Charles Woodson ^ (Oakland)
2004 – Chris Weinke (Carolina)
2009 – Matt Leinart (Arizona)
2011 – Charles Woodson*^ (Green Bay)
2016 – Cam Newton (Carolina)
2022 – Joe Burrow (Cincinnati)
2023 – DeVonta Smith (Philadelphia)

* – won Super Bowl ^only Heisman winner to play in the Super Bowl for different teams

Heisman winners who were Super Bowl MVPs
Roger Staubach, Dallas – 1972
Jim Plunkett, Oakland – 1981
Marcus Allen, L.A. Raiders – 1984
Desmond Howard, Green Bay – 1997

Won the Heisman, a National Championship & a Super Bowl
Tony Dorsett
Marcus Allen
Charles Woodson

Heisman winner Tony Dorsett helped the Dallas Cowboys win Super Bowl XII in 1978 with 66 rushing yards and a score.

Won Heisman, National Title, Super Bowl & Super Bowl MVP
Marcus Allen

Won Heisman, National Title, NFL MVP, Super Bowl & Super Bowl MVP
Marcus Allen

Most rushing yards gained by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
191 – Marcus Allen, 1984.

Most passing yards gained by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
265 – Cam Newton, 2016

Most touchdown passes by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
3 – Jim Plunkett (1981), Roger Staubach (1979)

Heisman winner Jim Plunkett threw for three TDs while leading the Oakland Raiders to a win in Super Bowl XV over the Philadelphia Eagles.

Most touchdowns scored by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
2 – Marcus Allen (1984), Eddie George (2000)

Most receptions by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
7 – DeVonta Smith, 2023.

Longest reception by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
45 yards – DeVonta Smith, 2023.

Most receiving yards gained by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
100 – DeVonta Smith, 2023.

Most tackles by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
8 – Charles Woodson, 2003.

Most interceptions by a Heisman winner in a Super Bowl
1 – Charles Woodson, 2003.

Most Super Bowl appearances by a Heisman winner
5 – Roger Staubach

Most Super Bowl rings by a Heisman winner
2 – Roger Staubach, Jim Plunkett