Notes on the 2018 Heisman Trophy finalists

The three finalists for the 2018 Heisman Trophy are set. They’ll be heading to New York on Friday to take part in all the festivities surrounding the announcement of the 84th annual award.

Here are a few items of note about Heisman finalist lore for all you trophy aficionados out there:

— There have now been 155 players invited to New York as Heisman finalists since the practice was first instituted in 1982.

— The first Heisman finalists were Herschel Walker, John Elway and Eric Dickerson.

–There have been three finalists invited 11 times, four finalists 10 times, five finalists 12 times, six finalists twice and eight finalists once (in 1989). No more than six finalists (in 1994 and 2013) have ever attended the ceremony.

— This is the fourth time in the last five years that just three finalists were invited to New York.

Dwayne Haskins is Ohio State’s fifth Heisman finalist, joining Keith Byars (’84), Eddie George (’95), Orlando Pace (’96) and Troy Smith (’06).

Kyler Murray is Oklahoma’s record-setting 10th Heisman finalist, joining Brian Bosworth (’86), Josh Heupel (’00), Jason White (’03, ’04), Adrian Petersen (’04), Sam Bradford(’08), Baker Mayfield (’16, ’17) and Dede Westbrook (’16).

Tua Tagovailoa is Alabama’s eighth finalist, joining David Palmer (’93), Jay Barker (’94), Mark Ingram(’09), Trent Richardson (’11), AJ McCarron (’13), Amari Cooper (’14), Derrick Henry (’15).

The complete list of Heisman finalists:

Herschel Walker, Georgia
John Elway, Stanford*
Eric Dickerson, SMU1983
Mike Rozier, Nebraska
Steve Young, BYU
Doug Flutie, Boston College1984
Doug Flutie, Boston College
Keith Byars, Ohio State
Robbie Bosco, BYU*
Bernie Kosar, Miami (Fla)

Bo Jackson, Auburn
Chuck Long, Iowa
Robbie Bosco, BYU*
Lorenzo White, Michigan State
Vinny Testaverde, Miami (Fla)

Vinny Testaverde, Miami (Fla)
Paul Palmer, Temple
Jim Harbaugh, Michigan*
Brian Bosworth, Oklahoma
D.J. Dozier, Penn State*

Tim Brown, Notre Dame
Don McPherson, Syracuse
Gordon Lockbaum, Holy Cross
Lorenzo White, Michigan State
Craig Heyward, Pittsburgh

Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State*
Rodney Peete, USC
Troy Aikman, UCLA
Steve Walsh, Miami (Fla)*
Major Harris, West Virginia

Andrew Ware, Houston*
Anthony Thompson, Indiana
Major Harris, West Virginia
Tony Rice, Notre Dame
Darian Hagan, Colorado
Dee Dowis, Air Force*
Emmitt Smith, Florida*
Blair Thomas, Penn State*

Ty Detmer, BYU*
Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame
Eric Bieniemy, Colorado
Shawn Moore, Virginia
David Klingler, Houston

Desmond Howard, Michigan
Casey Weldon, Florida State
Ty Detmer, BYU
Steve Emtman, Washington

Gino Torretta, Miami (Fla)
Marshall Faulk, San Diego State
Garrison Hearst, Georgia

Charlie Ward, Florida State
Heath Shuler, Tennessee
David Palmer, Alabama

Rashaan Salaam, Colorado
Ki-Jana Carter, Penn State
Steve McNair, Alcorn State
Kerry Collins, Penn State
Jay Barker, Alabama
Warren Sapp, Miami (Fla)

Eddie George, Ohio State
Tommie Frazier, Nebraska
Danny Wuerffel, Florida
Darnell Autry, Northwestern
Troy Davis, Iowa State

Danny Wuerffel, Florida
Troy Davis, Iowa State
Jake Plummer, Arizona State
Orlando Pace, Ohio State

Charles Woodson, Michigan
Peyton Manning, Tennessee
Ryan Leaf, Washington State
Randy Moss, Marshall

Ricky Williams, Texas
Michael Bishop, Kansas State
Cade McNown, UCLA
Tim Couch, Kentucky

Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech
Michael Vick, Virginia Tech
Drew Brees, Purdue
Chad Pennington, Marshall

Chris Weinke, Florida State
Josh Heupel, Oklahoma
Drew Brees, Purdue
LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU

Eric Crouch, Nebraska
Rex Grossman, Florida
Ken Dorsey, Miami (Fla)
Joey Harrington, Oregon

Carson Palmer, USC
Brad Banks, Iowa
Larry Johnson, Penn State
Willis McGahee, Miami (Fla)
Ken Dorsey, Miami (Fla)

Jason White, Oklahoma
Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh
Eli Manning, Mississippi
Chris Perry, Michigan

Matt Leinart, USC
Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma
Jason White, Oklahoma
Alex Smith, Utah
Reggie Bush, USC

Vince Young, Texas
Matt Leinart, USC

Troy Smith, Ohio State
Darren McFadden, Arkansas
Brady Quinn, Notre Dame

Tim Tebow, Florida
Darren McFadden, Arkansas
Colt Brennan, Hawaii
Chase Daniel, Missouri

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma
Colt McCoy, Texas
Tim Tebow, Florida

Mark Ingram, Alabama
Toby Gerhart, Stanford
Colt McCoy, Texas
Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
Tim Tebow, Florida

Cam Newton, Auburn
Andrew Luck, Stanford
LaMichael James, Oregon
Kellen Moore, Boise State

Robert Griffin III
Andrew Luck, Stanford
Trent Richardson, Alabama
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
Collin Klein, Kansas State

Jameis Winston, Florida State
AJ McCarron, Alabama
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Andre Williams, Boston College
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Tre Mason, Auburn

Marcus Mariota, Oregon
Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Amari Cooper, Alabama

Derrick Henry, Alabama
Christian McCaffrey, Stanford
Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Lamar Jackson, Louisville
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
Jabrill Peppers, Michigan
Deshaun Watson, Clemson
Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma

Lamar Jackson, Louisville
Bryce Love, Stanford
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

Dwayne Haskins, Ohio State
Kyler Murray, Oklahoma
Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

* – invited but did not attend ceremony.