Long gaps between Heismans

Schools like Army, Notre Dame, USC and Oklahoma have tended to win their Heismans in bunches.

But which schools with at least two Heismans have had the longest gaps in between trophies?

Here’s a list:

Texas A&M – 55 years
John David Crow won the Aggies’ first Heisman in 1957, then came Johnny Manziel in 2012.

Michigan – 51 years
Desmond Howard’s 1991 Heisman followed Tom Harmon in 1940.

Wisconsin – 45 years
First came Alan Ameche in 1954, then Ron Dayne in 1999.

Georgia – 40 years
Herschel Walker’s 1982 Heisman followed Frank Sinkwich’s in 1942.

Florida – 30 years
Danny Wuerffel won his Heisman in 1996, exactly 30 years after his coach, Steve Spurrier, won it in 1966.

Auburn – 25 years
Cam Newton’s Heisman in 2010 followed Bo Jackson’s Heisman in 1985.

USC – 21 years
Carson Palmer’s 2002 Heisman was USC’s first since Marcus Allen in 1981.

Texas – 21 years
Earl Campbell came in 1977, Ricky Williams in 1998.