University of Oklahoma

Kyler Murray threw for 4,053 yards with 40 touchdowns and just 7 interceptions while leading the Sooners to a 12-1 record and a berth in the College Football Playoff.

Heisman Winner

Kyler Murray

QB | RS Junior | University of Oklahoma

Kyler Murray of the University of Oklahoma was selected as the 84th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy.

The junior quarterback was announced as the 2018 winner of the prestigious honor at the end of ESPN’s live broadcast of the Heisman ceremony from Manhattan’s PlayStation Theater.

“This is crazy. This is an honor,” said Murray from the podium after being announced as the winner. “It’s something I’ll never forget. Something I’ll cherish for the rest of my life.”

Murray, who followed Baker Mayfield as quarterback at Oklahoma, is the first player to win the Heisman the year after taking over for another Heisman winner. His victory also marks just the fourth time a school has won consecutive Heismans.

He’s the seventh Sooner to win the Heisman, joining Billy Vessels (’52), Steve Owens (’69), Billy Sims (’78), Jason White (’03), Sam Bradford (’08) and Mayfield (’17).  That total ties Notre Dame and Ohio State for most Heisman wins.

The 5-10, 195-pounder from Allen, Texas, threw for 4,054 yards and 40 touchdowns, with another 892 yards and 11 scores on the ground while leading the Sooners to a 12-1 record, the Big 12 title and a berth in the College Football Playoff. His passer rating of 205.72 is the best in Heisman history, eclipsing the mark of 203.76 set by Mayfield in 2017.

Ballots were emailed to 870 media personnel across the nation plus 58 Heisman winners and one fan ballot, for a total of 929 electors. The ballots were received and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP. Murray polled 2,167 points to capture the award over Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama (1,871 points), and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins (783 points).

The point total is reached by a system of three points for a first place vote, two for a second and one for a third.

More Articles About Kyler Murray

Heisman Voting Results

Number of electors: - Announced: December 10, 2017.

  Player Class Position School 1st2nd3rd Total Points
1Kyler MurrayJRQBOklahoma517278602167
2Tua TagovailoaSOQBAlabama2994311121871
3Dwayne HaskinsSOQBOhio State46111423783
4Will GrierSRQBWest Virginia41780126
5Gardner MinshewSRQBWashington State61574122
6McKenzie MiltonSOQBCentral Florida441939
7Travis EtienneSORBClemson061729
8Quinnen WilliamsSODTAlabama141627
9Jonathan TaylorSORBWisconsin121926
10Darrell HendersonJRRBMemphis031521

Three points are awarded for first place on a ballot, with two points for second place and one point for third place.

Heisman Voting By Region

Heisman voters are spread out across six regions, with roughly 145 per region.


  Player Points
1Kyler Murray356
2Tua Tagovailoa375
3Dwayne Haskins114


  Player Points
1Kyler Murray327
2Tua Tagovailoa274
3Dwayne Haskins125


  Player Points
1Kyler Murray360
2Tua Tagovailoa309
3Dwayne Haskins120


  Player Points
1Kyler Murray339
2Tua Tagovailoa291
3Dwayne Haskins202


  Player Points
1Kyler Murray415
2Tua Tagovailoa323
3Dwayne Haskins119

Far West

  Player Points
1Kyler Murray370
2Tua Tagovailoa299
3Dwayne Haskins103


OpponentResultAttCompPctYardsYPATDIntRatingRushesYardsYPCTDPlaysTotal OffYPPTotal TDs
Florida AtlanticW 63-1411981.820919.020301.44235.8001523215.472
UCLAW 49-21331957.63069.331159.410696.902433758.725
at Iowa StateW 37-27292172.434812.030207.415775.100444259.663
ArmyW 28-21 (OT)151173.316511.031218.477110.1012223610.734
BaylorW 66-33211781.043220.660348.010454.5013147715.397
TexasL 48-45261973.130411.741214.411928.4013739610.705
at TCUW 52-27241979.22138.940208.79515.700332648.004
Kansas StateW 51-14241979.235214.730243.65469.2012939813.724
at Texas TechW 51-46352057.136010.332160.4111009.1014646010.004
Oklahoma StateW 48-47292172.434912.010184.914664.700434159.651
KansasW 55-40322165.62728.521151.489912.403403719.285
at West VirginiaW 59-56272074.136413.531216.6911412.7013647813.284
+ TexasW 39-27342573.537911.130196.310393.900444189.503
Heisman Stats12-134024170.9405311.9407205.71238927.2511463494510.6851

(+) Neutral Site