Did you know: The 1990s Heismans

Heisman winners and their high schools

Ricky Williams is one of three Heisman winners from San Diego high schools

Time for the latest in a series of trivia tidbits about Heisman Trophy winners.  Today, a few notes on Heisman winners from the 1990s.

Did you know …

…1990 winner Ty Detmer of BYU is the last Heisman winner to come from a school that does not currently play in a major FBS conference.

… Detmer’s 5,022 yards of total offense (regular season) is the most in Heisman history.

… Detmer was the third-straight Heisman winner to receive his award via satellite.

… Desmond Howard was the last wide receiver to win the Heisman.

… Howard is one of four Heisman winners to be named Super Bowl MVP.

… Gino Torretta is one of 13 Heisman winners born in California.

… Charlie Ward is the first Heisman winner to win while playing for an ACC team.

… Ward is the only Heisman winner to play in the NBA and one of two to play in the NCAA tournament.

… Rashaan Salaam was the last Heisman winner to come from the conference known as the Big 8.

… Salaam is one of five players to top 2,000 yards prior to winning the Heisman.

… Salaam played 8-man football in high school.

… Eddie George is one of two Heisman winners to attend Fork Union Military Academy in Virginia (Vinny Testaverde being the other).

… George’s 44 receptions and 389 receiving yards in 1995 are the most by a Heisman-winning running back.

… Danny Wuerffel is the only Heisman winner whose head coach was also a Heisman winner.

… Wuerffel was the first SEC quarterback to win the Heisman since Pat Sullivan in 1971.

… Charles Woodson is the only player to win a Heisman playing primarily on the defensive side of the ball.

… Woodson’s 18-season NFL career was the second-longest by a Heisman winner to Testaverde’s 21.

… Ricky Williams is one of six Heisman winners to also play professional baseball.

… Williams is the last Heisman winner who, during his career, played on a game that ended in a tie.

… Ron Dayne is the last senior running back to win the Heisman.

… Dayne’s Heisman was the 14th won by a Big Ten player.

… Dayne’s 6,397 career rushing yards was the NCAA record for 17 years before being eclipsed last season by Donnell Pumphrey of San Diego State.