Jayden Daniels of LSU Wins 2023 Heisman Trophy

2023 Heisman Trophy winner Jayden Daniels with the trophy on Saturday, Dec. 9, 2023 in New York, NY. / Photo Credit: Heisman Trophy Trust

Senior quarterback Jayden Daniels from Louisiana State University was announced as the 89th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy during ESPN’s 2023 Heisman Trophy Ceremony Presented by Nissan on Saturday (Dec. 9), originating from Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York, N.Y.

Fellow Heisman finalists quarterback Michael Penix Jr. of Washington, quarterback Bo Nix of Oregon and wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. of Ohio State finished second, third and fourth, respectively, in the Heisman balloting.

Daniels is LSU’s third Heisman winner as he joins Joe Burrow (2019) and Billy Cannon (1959) among Tigers to hoist the bronze statue. He is also the 20th quarterback in the last 23 years to win the award and the 39th quarterback overall.

“I’m blessed to win this award,” Daniels said. “I’m part of a fraternity that I watched growing up.”

The 6-foot-4 Daniels, born in San Bernardino Calif., completed 236-of-327 passes for 3,812 yards and 40 touchdowns with just four interceptions while also rushing for 1,134 yards and another 10 scores. 

He leads the nation in total offense (4,946), TDs responsible for (50), passer rating (208.0, currently above the NCAA record), yards per pass attempt (11.7) and rushing yards by a quarterback (1,134) while his 40 TD passes are tied for first. 

Daniels earlier this week was named the 2023 AP Player of the Year in addition to winning the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm, Davey O’Brien National Quarterback and Walter Camp Player of the Year Awards. He is also a five-time SEC Offensive Player of the Week winner this season.

He became the first player in FBS history to rush for 200 yards and pass for 350 yards in a game when he did it against Florida on Nov. 11, collecting 372 yards through the air and 234 on the ground. The 606 total yards broke the SEC record. Daniels joined Heisman winner Johnny Manziel as the only other player in SEC history to pass for 3,500 yards and rush for 1,000 yards in a season and is the eighth player to do it overall.

Daniels’ passer rating of 208.01 is a Heisman best and his 4,946 total yards is tied for the third-most by a Heisman winner, matching 2018 winner Kyler Murray’s total. His 50 total touchdowns are the seventh most in Heisman history and his 3,812 passing yards is 12th most.

Daniels is the fifth player in the last seven years who won the award after transferring and he is the first Heisman winner born in California since Matt Leinart won it in 2004. Despite the drought, California has still produced 14 Heisman winners, more than any other state.

He is just the third senior to win the award since 2006, the other two including Burrow (2019) and DeVonta Smith (2020). Daniels, the first Heisman winner coached by Brian Kelly, is the 34th winner from the SEC. 

Penix Jr. is Washington’s highest finisher ever in Heisman balloting, topping defensive tackle Steve Emtman’s fourth-place finish in 1991. Nix is Oregon’s highest finisher since Marcus Mariota won the award in 2014. Harrison Jr. is Ohio State’s highest finisher since C.J. Stroud was third in 2022. 

The 2023 Heisman Trophy ballots went out to 928 electors, which includes 870 members of the media, our 57 living Heisman winners and one overall fan vote presented by Nissan, premier partner of the Heisman Trophy. All ballots were submitted electronically to the independent accountants at Deloitte.

Rounding out the top 10 finishers in the 2023 Heisman voting were:

5. Jordan Travis, Florida State

6. Jalen Milroe, Alabama

7. Ollie Gordon II, Oklahoma State

8. Cody Schrader, Missouri

9. Blake Corum, Michigan

10. J.J. McCarthy, Michigan