12 Finalists Announced For 2023 Heisman High School Scholarship

The 12 national finalists were announced today (Nov. 7) for the 2023 Heisman High School Scholarship. The two national winners, one male and one female, will be announced on Nov. 30.

The national finalists include:

  • George Cheng from North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in West Hills, N.C.
  • Ashton Elpers from North Posey High in Poseyville, Ind.
  • Callan Hall of Salina (Kan.) High Central
  • Chase Hartman from Walter L. Sickles High in Citrus Park, Fla.
  • Nathaniel Hayes from Effingham County High in Springfield, Ga.
  • Kaylynn Ivy Layne from East Ridge High in Lick Creek, Ky.
  • Ezra Linnan from Sevastopol High in Sturgeon Bay, Wisc.
  • Katelyn Matarese from La Canada (Calif.) High.
  • Luke Pelletier from Jamestown High in Williamsburg, Va.
  • Luke Ratcliff from Harleton (Texas) High
  • Colleen Stankiewicz from Manchester (N.H.) Central High
  • Jenica Stoner from Eastland High in Lanark, Ill.

The 12 finalists were named following the announcement of 50 male and 50 female state winners last week, which came after the selection of thousands of talented winners from high schools across the country.

National winners will be announced on the Heisman High School Scholarship Facebook and Twitter channels on Nov. 30 at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT. 

A judging panel will select one male and one female from the 12 national finalists as national winners. The two national award winners will receive a $10,000 college scholarship.

The 10 national finalists who are not named a national winner will receive a $2,000 college scholarship.

A $1,000 college scholarship was awarded to the winning senior male and female student-athletes from each state. The 12 National Finalists were selected from the 100 state winners, made up of six senior males and six senior females from six geographic regions.

Click here for more information.