Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

2006 - 72nd Award
Troy Smith
Ohio State Back

Troy Smith, the 6-foot 1-inch 215 pound quarterback from Cleveland captured Ohio State's seventh Heisman Trophy. He joins the elite company of Les Horvath (1944), Vic Janowicz (1950), Howard "Hopalong" Cassady (1955), Archie Griffin (1974 & 1975), and Eddie George (1995) as a winner of the Heisman Trophy from the Ohio State University. Smith received 801 first-place votes and won the Heisman by 1,662 points, both of which are the second-best in the history of the award. During Smith's senior year campaign, he threw for a school-record thirty (30) touchdowns while securing a spot for his Buckeyes in the BCS National Championship Game. Following his senior season, he was also awarded the Walter Camp Award, Davey O'Brien Award, AP Player of the Year, Sporting News Player of the Year, and Big Ten Offensive Player of the year.

The Voting






Total Points

1. Troy SmithOhio State80162132,540
2. Darren McFaddenArkansas45298147878
3. Brady QuinnNotre Dame13276191782
4. Steve SlatonWest Virginia65194214
5. Mike HartMichigan55879210
6. Colt BrennanHawaii64496202
7. Ray RiceRutgers1164479
8. Ian JohnsonBoise State1134473
9. Dwayne JarrettSouthern California1112247
10. Calvin JohnsonGeorgia Tech182443

The number of points by region and position within each are as follows for the top three candidates:







Far West

  Pts.   Pos.Pts.   Pos.Pts.   Pos.Pts.   Pos.Pts.   Pos.Pts.   Pos.
Troy Smith431   1413   1409   1447   1451   1389   1
Darren McFadden107   3117   2227   2209   2120   398   3
Brady Quinn171   2112   3 96   3119   3151   2133   2

Aflac Supplemental Insurance