Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

2008 - 74th Award
Sam Bradford - Oklahoma

The 6'4, 218 pound Sam Bradford became the fifth Oklahoma Sooner to receive the Heisman Trophy. Bradford enjoyed a sensational sophomore campaign in 2008, triggering a Sooners offense that set an NCAA single-season record with 716 points. He led the nation in touchdown passes with 50 in the 2008 season and also led the nation with passing efficiency rating of 180.84. The Oklahoma City native concluded his collegiate career holding 15 school records, including marks for passing yards (8,403) and TD passes (88). In total, he completed 604 of 893 passes, finishing his tenure in Norman with a 6.25-to-1 TD-to-INT ratio, one of the best marks in college football history. Bradford joins fellow Oklahoma Sooners; Billy Vessels, Steve Owens, Billy Sims, and Jason White as Heisman Trophy winners.

Total Votes






Total Points

1. Sam BradfordOklahoma3003151961,726
2. Colt McCoyTexas2662882301,604
3. Tim TebowFlorida3092072341,575
4. Graham HarrellTexas Tech134486213
5. Michael CrabtreeTexas Tech32753116
6. Shonn GreeneIowa593265
7. Patrick WhiteWest Virginia31819
8. Nate DavisBall State01810
9. Rey MaualugaSo. California2119
10. Javon RingerMichigan State1058

No.  of Registered electors: 925
Date of announcement: December 13th, 2005
Date of dinner: December 15th, 2005


The number of points by region and position within each are as follows for the top five candidates:







Far West

1. Sam Bradford289 1267 1250 2360 1281 2279 1
2. Colt McCoy266 3252 3247 3313 2292 1234 2
3. Tim Tebow274 2264 2382 1184 3259 3212 3
Aflac Supplemental Insurance