Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

1989 - 55th Award
André Ware
Houston Back

The 55th winner of the Heisman Trophy is the gifted passing quarterback of the University of Houston, André Ware. Ware is a junior and the first Cougar football player to win the college sport's most coveted individual award. He is, in addition, the first star from the Southwest Conference to win the Heisman Trophy since 1977 when Earl Campbell of the University of Texas was honored. In the first ten games of the 1989 season, he completed 329 passes in 516 attempts for 4,299 yards and 44 touchdowns. Against archrival Texas, Ware hurled four touchdown passes in leading the Cougars to a 47-9 victory. Facing a strong Texas Tech team, Ware had a sensational afternoon, completing 37 passes for 475 yards and four touchdowns. As a sophomore in 1988, Ware gave an early indication of just how good he was going to be at throwing the football. He passed for 25 touchdowns to set a Southwest Conference record, a mark he has bettered this season. He had only eight interceptions, which was a remarkable statistic given the fact that he was only a sophomore and the Houston team put the ball in the air most of the time. André played for the Toronto Argonauts of the CFL. The Oakland Raiders signed André in 1998 and he retired from the NFL in 1999.

The Voting













1stAndre WareHoustonJr.QB242132 831,073
2ndAnthony ThompsonIndianaSr.RB1851701081,003
3rdMajor HarrisWest VirginiaSr.QB115115134709
4thTony RiceNotre DameSr.QB 72101105523
5thDarian HaganColoradoSo.QB 52 42 52292
6thDee DowisAir ForceSr.QB 15 31 38145
7th Emmitt SmithFloridaJr.RB 13 29 43140
8thPercy SnowMichigan StateSr.WR 7 15 1970
9thTy DetmerBrigham YoungSo.QB 3 13 1449
10thRaghib IsmailNotre DameSo.WR 3 11 1748
 Blair ThomasPenn StateSr.RB 4 12 1248

Andre Ware became Houston's first Heisman Trophy winner, taking three of the six sections. Indiana's Anthony Thompson won two sections and Major Harris of West Virginia took one making this race the fourth closest Heisman competition up to that point. Ware's Houston team was on probation in 1989 and he won despite not having any television exposure, the fist time a winner came from a team on probation.

No. of registered electors: 918
Date of announcement: December 2, 1989
Date of dinner: December 7, 1989



Mid Atlantic




Far West

Rice964 1124715923555973
Hagan355216277385 1033685

Anthony Thompson - Indiana
Major Harris - West Virginia
Tony Rice - Notre Dame
Darian Hagan - Colorado

Aflac Supplemental Insurance