Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


2010 Heisman Trophy Winner

Cam Newton of Auburn Unitvesity was selected as the 76th winner of the Heisman Memorial Trophy as the Most Outstanding College Football Player in the United States for 2010. 

N. Richard Kalikow, of the Heisman Trophy Trust, which annually presents the Heisman Memorial Trophy Award, announced the selection of Newton on Saturday evening, December 11th, on a nationally televised ESPN sports special live from the Best Buy Theatre in Times Square.

The victory for the 6’6”, 250-pound Newton marks the third time a member of the Tigers has won the Heisman Trophy.  He joins Pat Sullivan (1971) and Vincent “Bo” Jackson (1985).  Newton is the 31st quarterback to receive the award.

Newton wins 2010 Heisman

Newton, of College Park, GA, has completed 165 of his 246 passes this year, for 2,589 yards and 28 touchdowns while throwing only 6 interceptions.  Additionally, he has rushed 242 times for 1,409 yards (5.8 yards per carry) with 20 rushing touchdowns while catching 2 passes for 42 yards and one additional touchdown.  Both his passing and rushing touchdown totals are the best in Auburn school history and make him only the second player in FBS history to have 20 or more passing and rushing touchdowns in the same season.  While leading the Tigers to an undefeated (13-0) regular season and a No.1 National ranking, Newton was named the SEC Offensive Player of the Year.  Additionally, Newton has led Auburn to a berth in the BCS Championship Game on January 10th against Oregon where he will face off against fellow Heisman finalist, LaMichael James.

Ballots were mailed to 870 media personnel across the nation plus 55 Heisman winners and one fan ballot, for a total of 926 electors.  The ballots are received and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP.  Newton polled 2,263 points to capture the award over Andrew Luck of Stanford (1,079 points), LaMichael James of Oregon (916 points), and Kellen Moore of Boise State (635 points).  The point total is reached by a system of three points for a first place vote, two for a second and one for a third. 

Cam Newton will officially be honored at the 76th annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Award Dinner on Monday evening, December 13th at the Marriot Marquis in New York.

For more information, contact Tim Henning at 212-425-7000.


Aflac Supplemental Insurance